37 Member SA Track & Field Team to the African Games

Kyle Blignaut in action at World Junior Championships in Tampere 2018 where he won Gold. Photo credit: Getty Images

The 2019 African Games will be taking place in Morocco in the cities of Rabat and Casablanca from 16-31 August. The African Games were formerly known as the All-Africa Games and it is a multi-event competition and the biggest competition in Africa which takes place every 4 years.


37 Athletes have been included in Team SA’s African Games squad which is the biggest team in the squad of all the sporting codes that will be competing in Morocco.


Sporting codes that will form the SA Squad at the African Games:

| Athletics | Swimming | Archery | Badminton | Canoeing | Cycling | Judo |Table Tennis | |Tennis|Beach Volleyball | Weightlifting |


Team SA has a vibrant Track & Field team which has a good balance of young up-and-coming talent and experienced athletes which give the team a great balance. The African Games  come at a great time as athletes can make use of this prestigious continental competition to prepare and qualify for World Championships as well as prepare for the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo. All the athletes have a great opportunity to use this competition to “Level Up” and the honour of representing the entire nation in the green and gold!


Here’s a look at the SA Athletics Team as selected by SASCOC:


  1. Henricho Bruintjies
  2. Thando Dlodlo
  3. Anaso Jobodwana
  4. Chederick van Wyk
  5. Gardeo Isaacs
  6. Thapelo Phora
  7. Derick Mokaleng
  8. Ashley Hlungwane
  9. Ranti Dikgale
  10. Tshepo Tshite
  11. Ruan De Vries
  12. Lindsey Hanekom
  13. Sokwakhana Zazini
  14. Mpho Links
  15. Breyton Poole
  16. Wayne Synman
  17. Orazio Cremona
  18. Kyle Blignaut
  19. Victor Hogan



  1. Tebogo Mamatu
  2. Tamzin Thomas
  3. Justine Palframan
  4. Danel Holton
  5. Taylon Bieldt
  6. Zeney van der Walt
  7. Wenda Nel
  8. Julia Du Plessis
  9. Lynique Beneke
  10. Zinzi Chabangu
  11. Patience Ntshingila
  12. Ischke Senekal
  13. Meike Strydom
  14. Yolandi Stander
  15. Margo-Chene Pretorius
  16. Marga Cumming
  17. Sunette Viljoen
  18. Jo-ane van Dyk



| John Mathane | Paul Gorries | Irma Reyneke | DP Badenhorst |


All the best to all the athletes preparing and sharpening up for this prestigious continental competition.


Written by Themba Madima